Loan advice

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by chb, 1st Apr, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. chb

chb Member

Hi All,

I'm fairly new in terms of actually owning an IP and was hoping for some tips around loans.

I've got a
    • PPOR which is about $500K loan and I've got about $200K in the offset
    • IP which has a $364K IO loan and worth 460K(80%) and returns 540/wk
    • $100k income
    • Both under my name and not the wifes
    To get the IP loan to start with I had to put some more money into my PPOR, rather than the offset, otherwise the bank wouldn't have given me the loan amount. I thought this was strange given that the 540 a week rental income is actually alot higher than the repayments of about $1100 a month.

I'm now considering getting another IP and I know I'll come across the issue of getting a loan but was wondering if I am doing something wrong? Seems like a few people have multiple IPs and are able to get loans but I'm already maxed out according to the bank even though in my opinion I'm paying off the loans easily?

2. Anthony Brew

Anthony Brew Well-Known Member

The rental income they only calculate at 80%, so if you are getting 28,080 in rent, they only calculate the income for you as 22,464.

Also the loan of 364K, even though you are paying IO, I believe they calculate it as PI and also at 7.25%, so in their calculations, your outgoings are going to be way higher than it is in reality.
    Eg if your real IO repayments are 1,515 but PI repayments at 7.25% would come out as 2,630 then they make their calculations on the latter even though it off by about 13k/year.

So that combined means your serviceability from their calculations is 20k below what you actually currently paying.

And even worse, they seem to ignore the money in the offset when doing calculations.