LL responsibility or not? Requests for curtains/blinds

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by phoenix555, 14th Mar, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. phoenix555

phoenix555 Active Member

Hello! I'm new to being a landlord, having inherited a 2br townhouse in Brisbane, from my dad. I will eventually sell it it, but not until my mum has gone (sentimental reasons for her). I've been googling what are my responsibilities to ensure I'm being a good LL.

A new tenant has just moved in, and has made these requests/'demands':

1. Request - A gas stove - there is currently an electric one, which I was thinking of replacing as it's quite old and the spill bowls are rusting on the edges. I don't want to get gas put in and worry about bottles etc - I don't see gas bottles with any of the othe townhouses in the complex - it seems like a pretty major request.

2. Request - Put white pebbles in the front courtyard. Currently old pebbles, brick border and no vegetation in the garden beds. It was left in a dead and weedy state by the last tenants, when I took over. I'm planning to make it all stamped concrete with smaller raised garden beds so it's neater, cleaner and less maintenance. I will move forward my plan for this.

3. Demand - Toilet roll holder and towel rail not sturdy enough. Well... they were brand new four years ago and whilst they're not top of the range, I did check them when I went around for an inspection (no tenants for 2.5 months) and I didn't feel the was anything wrong. Do you just change that sort of stuff when they ask, or get a handyman to see if they can be 'tightened up'?