Living in a van/campervan

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Moist, 16th Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Moist

Moist Well-Known Member

Hi guys,

I just thought I would ask if anyone has ever considered living in a van/campervan or even does this currently.

I'm a health professional and make pretty good money ($150k+) but am not passionate about what I do. I hate going to work and just can't wait to quit and retire.

I've seen a lot of youtube videos about singles and couples giving up their house and living off grid in a camper van or "van-camper-conversion" and they love it. The van is completely self sustainable (electricity from solar, water from simple pump system, toilet systems etc.)

They live as nomads and have the freedom to travel and live wherever they want. Some work without having to leave their laptop, others pick up simple work wherever they are in the country.

My thoughts were to take up this lifestyle, and do contract work (locum work) for different practices around the country as I would enjoy traveling as well. So I would still be making good money while dramatically reducing my living costs.

I'd like to hear what people think about this idea and also touch on finance as well. Will banks/brokers allow me to use a lower living cost number in applying for finance?

Ozzie in Texas and luckystar like this.
  2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Maybe

if you currently declare 3000 a mth in liv costs as a single say, then 1800 when on the road, that lower figure is ok

Locum based finance int easy but possible

Go chase your dreams..........................

ta
    rolf

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Did you see the thread on Tiny Houses recently?

No lenders have minimum living costs which they use, even if you spend less.

4. datto

datto Well-Known Member