NSW Lisarow in the Central Cost- Good area for IP?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Hadleyjm, 16th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Hadleyjm

Hadleyjm Member

Hello Property Chatters!

I'm very new to the investment property market, so forgive me for any dumb questions.
    My partner and I have been thinking of buying our first investment property. We are thinking of areas in the central coast since the prices in Sydney are just too high. We've been searching a little lately and noticed that properties on the Central Coast near the train line may be desirable.

1) What do you think of Lisarow as an area to buy an IP?
    2) Is it an area attractive to renters?
    3) What is the typical rental yield?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

2. Inov8ive

Inov8ive Well-Known Member

It is not too bad for a commute to Sydney tbh but personally, there is not a chance in hell I would buy there. If you are going to buy on the CC you need to at least be near some water. There are better spots on the CC, look at Berkely Vale, San Remo or Lake Haven. Personally though I think you would find better CG and yields in Western or South Western Sydney.

3. Chris White

Chris White Well-Known Member

I think the time to have bought in Lisarow has passed. DOM is 22 days right now and the yields have dropped dramatically due to CG over the past year.

We bought a few properties in Berkeley Value 18 months and prices have now jumped a lot (20%) so I wouldn't be buying there now either.

You are limited in Western Sydney with a budget under $500k.

The central coast is booming off the back off Sydney which always happens.

If you are going to buy on the CC, my advice is to buy very smartly and only properties where you can add value to them.

The CC always has a hard landing for people that have bought towards the top of the market.

4. Hadleyjm

Hadleyjm Member

Thank you Chris and Inov8ive's quick response!