LIC's vs ETF's Historical Performance

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Realist35, 8th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Realist35

Realist35 Well-Known Member

Hi guys,

Complete newbie with shares so I apologize for silly questions:).

I've been personally thinking between investing in Australian LICs Vs VAS. I'm leaning towards VAS for the following reasons:

1. I think investing in LICs would require much more effort and learning from my side. It would require require timing to purchase shares at a discount to NTA and this will delay my lump sum investment and potential returns,
    2. I've been looking today at the 10-15 yr performance of big old Oz LICs to AUS200/300 (close to VAS I suppose). From what I could see lics performed very close to VAS. I attached the screenshotts.

In summary, they compared like this:

1. BKI outperformed ASX 300 over the last 12 yrs (11.3% vs 9.6%),
    2. AFI outperformed ASX 200 over the last 10 yrs (5.1% vs 4.3%),
    3. ARGO performed same as ASX 200 over the last 10 yrs,
    4. Milton performed close to All Ordinaries Index over the last 15 yrs (both at around 8.6%),
    5. Whitefield slightly underperformed ASX 200 Industrials (4.9% vs 5.1%).

On the flip side, LIC dividends are fully franked whereas VAS dividends are franked I believe at around 75% level.

Is this really a draw? :)

Attached Files:

2. Kangabanga

Kangabanga Well-Known Member

VAS or LIC, probably not much difference over the longer term 10yrs+ as you have shown.

However this is probably not the best time to be entering stocks as its pretty close to all time highs. Upside limited whilst downside is pretty much assured. A bit like entering the Sydney property market now. Whether VAS or LIC you'd probably be buying at the peak.