Liberty and refinancing

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by sage99, 14th Sep, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sage99

sage99 Active Member

We're looking at refinancing and one option that has been recommended is Liberty. I work in finance (albeit a very different area to mortgages) and I know Liberty have a reputation as the lender of choice for applicants with less than ideal credit histories etc.

Our credit history is clear with no issues whatsoever, I think the only issue for us would be serviceability with the new guidelines. I'm wondering if we refinance with Liberty and then decide to refinance elsewhere down the track, will other 'standard' type lenders view our time with Liberty as a negative?

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

I've refinanced a couple of clients away from Liberty here and there. As long as the application meets the appropriate lending criteria it's never been a problem for the new lender.

In most cases though, when refinancing away from a non confirming lender we include some details about why that lender was used in the first place and if necessary we mitigate that in the new application. If the reason for using Liberty is 'serviceability', then that would mitigate it self if you were to refinance later.

As an example, one client was placed with Liberty a few years ago because the 3 units (under the one roof) did not have a laundry, they had an arrangement with the neighbor. When we refinanced away from Liberty, the property had been renovated and each unit now had fittings for a washing machine in the bathroom (the tenants still went next door though).

3. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hi @sage99