land value vs. building value

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by roots73, 20th Nov, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. roots73

roots73 Well-Known Member

Greetings PCers,
    I'm fairly new to the PI game and been reading through this highly informative and, at times, entertaining forum, thank you for your wealth of knowledge! This is my first post, so please be nice ;-)

The topic is land value vs building value of a property
    (this may have been covered in another thread but I couldn't find it):
    Once all other DD has been completed and the fundamentals of a property look good along with decent yield & CG balance (based on your strategy), do you look at the land value in relation to the building value?

Eg. if a property is for sale at 350k, the land value is 280k, and the house looks like its definitely worth more than 70k, would that be a decisive factor for you? Or is the rental return / growth potential etc more important?

Thanks, Roots.

2. wombat777

wombat777 Well-Known Member

I look for a combination - location or other characteristics that are conducive to capital growth as well as a rental yield that enables me to hold it without a negative impact to my back pocket.

I also look at the future potential to add value to the property. Potential that will increase profits from a sale or potential that will increase yield and cashflow. For the later, think of it as turbo-charging the ability of the property to generate passive income.

You might go for a lower-yielding property if you think there are genuine prospects of capital growth in the short to medium term. The downside is that you have a negative cashflow whilst you hold it when yields are too low.

Sackie and roots73 like this.
  3. roots73

Thanks Wombat777!

4. dabbler

dabbler Well-Known Member