Land value strategy?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Stvn, 26th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Stvn

Stvn Active Member

Hi all, wonder if you can help me?

I'm new to property investing, hoping to buy my first IP later this year. Been speaking to a few people & like the idea of buying an IP where I can add value of some kind, get it revalued then borrow some of the equity for the next IP

I've recently noticed some property listings having a line like 'offered at land value' even though the house isn't that bad (not great but not terrible either) which got me thinking

Does anyone use this as a specific strategy - looking for properties that are available at close to land value (or even below land value - is that even possible?)? Is 'land value' actually a good measure of the minimum value of a property? And how does buying at/below land value affect the revaluation?

Basically I guess I'm asking whether buying a property at/below land value is an easy/obvious way to manufacture equity?

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

How will you determine land value? By what the agent says? Looking at the UCV on a rates notice/OSR website? Research? Engaging a valuer?

3. Stvn

Stvn Active Member

UCV - how much do valuers use that as a starting-point in valuing a property?

4. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

@Stvn - it's a totally irrelevant figure used for ratings/taxation purposes not for valuation.

5. Tonibell

Tonibell Well-Known Member

I think you have the right approach - worry about the land you are buying much more than the house on it.

Getting something you can add value to is a great way to build up equity. We have only ever purchased dumps.

As for determining value - comparatives are the best way. Look for places where renovated houses sell for a lot more than ones needing a renovation.

6. sash

sash Well-Known Member