Land tax

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Hetty, 22nd Jul, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Hetty

Hetty Well-Known Member

We bought two properties this financial year in Brisbane and these are our first investment properties. We did not receive land valuation notices in the mail and I'll chase this up on Monday. I have two questions! Is the land tax threshold divided between owners? the value of the land is about $830k according to: Annual land valuations released for Brisbane City Council area but we own the properties together (50/50) so will we stay under the $600k threshold and not have to pay any land tax? Sorry, I know I'm a total noob!

Secondly, if we do have to pay land tax, do we pay a lesser amount as the properties were purchased during the financial year (one in October and one in January)?

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

It is divided between owners. So with total combined value of 800k you each will be under the threshold.

And notices will come out maybe August but usually payment not required until November. Tax is based in what you own as at 30 June each year.

The owner would have received the notice showing the increase (before you bought?)

Anne11 likes this.
  3. Hetty

Hetty Well-Known Member

Thanks Wylie. I'm not sure about any notices the previous owner received, nothing was mentioned?!

But... I just don't have to worry about it because we're under the threshold? So when we receive the notices no amount will be payable.

4. Bris Jay

Bris Jay Well-Known Member

That's a bit crappy. If you settle on a property on 30th of June then you pay land tax for the full FY?

dan_89 likes this.
  5. wylie

You will get a notice from OSR sometime soon showing what you own and how it is divided, and consequently, what you owe.