Land Subdivision Finance

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by lixas4, 19th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. lixas4

lixas4 Well-Known Member

Hi, I am currently looking at purchasing a site which has a planning permit for 7 lots. This is a 'land' subdivision project, there will be no building. Only services and road access construction related activities.

Looking for some feedback on what the financing options are. I will be speaking to a broker (member on here), but would like to go into the discussions with a bit of base knowledge, so would like to hear peoples opinions.

The site is in a growing rural town in vic, I estimate the total development costs to be 1.15m, the gross realisable value to be around 1.5m. Not massive margins on this project. But it should be relatively low risk as I am a land surveyor, and I will be bringing in my bosses in on this one (ones a land surveyor, the other a civil engineer).

I am thinking the biggest risk for this project is the end sales. Given there are 7 lots that need to be sold, a 20k reduction in price would significantly reduce the end profit. So to overcome this I believe presales will be the best option. Thinking maybe adding a condition in the contract that requires a number of presales before going unconditional. Maybe 2 or 3 to gauge the market and confirm the required margins will be made. Another option is to see if the seller would be interested in a JV.

My finance related query is as there is 7 lots, it will be a commercial loan, so will presales be required anyway? What is the likely deposit % we will be required to provide? Will it be based on a % of TDC or GRV? I am thinking each of us provide 150k each (total 450k), will this suffice? Can this be equity or does it need to be cash? What is the likely lender interest rate? Can it be capitalised?