Joint or single loans

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by jinx77, 29th Jul, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. jinx77

jinx77 Well-Known Member

I’m a 35 year old professional looking to buy my first property as a PPOR. Have already saved up over 20% deposit. Two months ago I got preapproval for a loan to get an idea of what I can afford. Since then I’ve become more interested in the idea of buying with my partner, who unlike me, has no savings and works a minimum wage job, and who is currently weighing up his options to determine if he should buy with me.

We asked the bank if we could get seperate mortgages to buy a place together, and if so, how much he could borrow. We don’t want a joint mortgage for a number of reasons (the relationship is somewhat new, we want to keep a bulk of our finances seperate, we don’t want a joint account etc). We’d prefer to borrow separately and be each other’s guarantors. The bank’s now saying that if we buy a property together, even with seperate loans, I can borrow more than double of what they preapproved me to as an individual applicant. They’ve also said that he could borrow significantly more than what he could as a single homebuyer.

We’re very confused. I thought preapproval was all about determining how much someone can afford to repay, so why does buying a property with someone else dramatically increase my borrowing power even though my salary, bank balance and credit history is the same?

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

2 incomes!

Lindsay_W likes this.
  3. jinx77

jinx77 Well-Known Member

But his income doesn’t change what I can afford to pay. My income doesn’t change what he can afford to pay. If I lose my job he won’t be magically able to double his salary to cover my share of the repayments.

4. sumterrence

sumterrence Well-Known Member