It's all about starting somewhere

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by AllyJ, 18th Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AllyJ

AllyJ Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm a beginner at all this, feels like my property IQ has doubled or tripled over the past week or so of browsing the forums :) Like I'm undergoing a constant stream of many lightbulb moments back to back!

My strengths I guess would be that I'm good at saving and being frugal, and hopefully quick to pick up stuff - but the forum is showing me that there is so much nuance and expertise involved in investing. Like that thing about being the average of five people you spend most time with....I guess my circle of contacts and family have never been interested in these sorts of topics.

It's very encouraging that people have started from humble beginnings...gives me hope!

Reading the forums I get the impression that serviceability will loom as my main problem initially, and I need to consider my asset selection in light of this, I have $500k cash saved up but my salary is only $90-$100k.

I live west of Brisbane and I've been going to heaps of open houses to work out what's what, I'm thinking maybe buyers agent might be a sensible option to complement my daily increasing knowledge from reading on here :) At the moment I'm not even sure of what price or type of property I should be considering, but starting to understand some of the factors to think about.

Happy to be coming aboard!

Ally

House and bob shovel like this.
  2. hobo

hobo Well-Known Member

AllyJ likes this.
  3. Username86

Username86 Well-Known Member

Saving 500k is an awesome effort! Well done

AllyJ likes this.
  4. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

That's a good starting point!