Issues with lenders

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Munga, 24th Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Munga

Munga Well-Known Member

Hi All
    I am a non resident Australian currently living and working overseas on a yacht.
    I have just purchased an investment property on the Gold Coast and have paid the deposit.
    There was one other bidder involved and to get it over the line, I offered unconditional .
    I was confident in my ability to get financing as I have cash reserves and a reasonable income.
    It has been one month now and the banks I have tried with are struggling with various things, namely accepting that I don't have any living expenses and am not a tax resident anywhere. Settlement is in one month and with a 10% deposit on the line , I am getting decidedly nervous.
    The purchase price is 1,250,000. A 5br house.
    I currently have applications with 3 banks .
    One bank is concerned about my lack of living expenses.
    The other 2 keep requesting more and more docs which is really slowing the process down.
    Any of you guys out there had anything similar ?
    Any advice from brokers, bankers or other investors would be greatly appreciated.
    I have posted this in both sub forums as I was sure which was best .
    Thank you all.

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Have you tried a broker who has access across all banks, second tier lenders & other sources of finance.

Stoffo likes this.
  3. Yson

Yson Well-Known Member

Non resident is difficult to get finance, even an Australian with foreign income. Talk to broker

4. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Very difficult at the moment. Who have you tried? Are you a citizen of Australia?

5. C-mac

C-mac Well-Known Member