NSW Is this a potential duplex site?

Discussion in 'Property Analysis' started by Avkos, 11th Jun, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Avkos

Avkos New Member

Hello there,

I am a newbie and a first home buyer.

This property is in Revesby, NSW. It classified as R2 zone. It’s 7 mins walking distance from train station. Land size: 620m2. Over 16m frontage but the back boundary 12m. An odd shape block.

I wish to know given the shape the land, can a duplex be made on it? If yes, could you share what the maximum land can be for each?

CD26144-F-FD05-417-E-843-D-DB2-D6-F556118

This property is currently on the market for $945k.

Is this a good buy for a first home buyer or future property developer?

Attached Files:

2. Want2RetireYoung

Want2RetireYoung Member

Hi,

Always check with the Council as this will be the most reliable source of information. Also, ask the real estate agent for a 10.7 certificate with the contract of sale prior to purchasing. They tend to provide this to serious buyers.

According to the Bankstown LEP 2015, a dual occupancy (duplex) is permitted on R2 Low Density Residential land.

A duplex (attached) requires a minimum lot size of 500sqm and a minimum lot width of 15m at the front of the building line. A duplex (detached) requires a minimum lot size of 700sqm and a minimum lot width of 20m at the front of the building line.

From the picture you have provided, it seems that an attached duplex is permitted, subject to Council consent. A detached duplex would not be supported.

The maximum wall height is 7m, so roughly 8.5m/9m (2 storeys) is allowed with a pitched roof.

The maximum Floor Space Ratio is 0.5:1 for the whole site.

A further analysis of the Bankstown DCP is required to determine if the site can comply with the private open space requirements and other design controls. This can only be done with a proposed sketch of the duplex.