Is there a lead time to fixing rates?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by jaybean, 29th Jul, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jaybean

jaybean Well-Known Member

I'm with Bankwest (too late), AMP (7 Sept), Macbank (10 Aug).

For the last two, if I make the request on the final day will it be ok? Or do I need to allow for some lead time...I've never done this before. In the past I've decided to fix up front, I've never done it mid cycle!

thanks

2. DanW

DanW Well-Known Member

Yes there's lead time.

Usually between 1 day to 10 days depending on the bank.

Macquarie did the fix on the phone.

NAB does on the phone but takes 2-3 days.

AMP need written request, and money for the fee.

St George wanted to send documents out and wait for them to come back (unless go to a branch), takes a day after that.

Also - they can change fixed rates on offer any time without warning - so wait if you like but realise they may adjust fixed again.

Why do you need to wait is probably the best question to ask?

3. jaybean

Ok thanks. I'll do it tomorrow as you're right I don't want to risk it. Can AMP's written request be via email or do I have to physically post it? How long do they usually take? And how much is their fee? Also is there a risk it could affect my broker's trail? I don't want to mess with that as he's earned it (I just don't want to bother him right now with something so small as he's crazy busy).

4. DanW

DanW Well-Known Member

Can be by email attachment but you have to call them first and get the details. They talk you through it.

Not sure how long as mine not gone through yet, $350 fee. But mine is basic product, not sure about others.

I doubt it will affect the broker as it's not being re originated. Never be afraid to bother your broker.

5. Mick C

Mick C Well-Known Member