Is there a better strategy

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Samj, 16th Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Samj

Samj Well-Known Member

I am new to this real estate domain and so this may be a silly question. I am just wondering if there is a standard way that investers are following for the following case. I am not looking for a doggy way to do it.

We have built our house 2 years and 6 months ago. Our loan to value ratio is around 70% at the moment.

Now we have to move to a different area because of jobs and kids school changes. So, I am thinking to buy another property to live in and rent out the existing property.

If I take a new home loan (eg: $500K) putting my existing home as an equity, I'll have to pay the interest for the whole amount and it will not be tax deductible. My rental property will have a positive cash flow.

I am just wondering if it is possible to set it in the other way around? Biggest loan for the rental property and smaller loan for the new owner occupy property?

Just wondering if there is any way to setup it in that way. I don't want to move to the new property immediately. I can buy it now as an investment property and move in later if needed.

2. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Not really.

That's why IO with offset can be an awesome structure. It would have preserved the principal balance of your first home.

When releasing equity for your next purchase - ensure that you set up a new loan (don't just extend the existing).

Cheers

Jamie

3. Samj

Samj Well-Known Member

Thanks Jamie, Could you please explain this one? Let's say my home value is $500K and existing loan amount is $375K. Did you mean create a different interest only account for the same amount? Sorry I am not quite familiar in this domain...

4. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

No probs