Is it worth my while to obtain a depreciation schedule?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by new2this, 17th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. new2this

new2this New Member

Hello, I am new to all of this and need some sound advice. I purchased an investment property in October 2015, it was built in 1981 and I haven't done any renovations to it except for an interior paint job and replaced the window fittings prior to renting it out. Do you think it is worth paying out $$$ for a depreciation schedule? Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. mikey7

mikey7 Well-Known Member

Yes. I just ordered one today on a 1970's IP.
    When doing my research to choose the company, I saw most offer 'get at least double the cost of the report in depreciation in the first year, or the report is free'. You can also get discounts for saying your a PC member :)

3. Darwin55

Darwin55 Well-Known Member

4. Propertyman

Propertyman Well-Known Member

Hi @mikey7 who did you end up going with? thanks

5. Depreciator

Depreciator Well-Known Member

Depends on what is in the property. Any QS can tell you what you might get in depreciation if you send them some photos. It's pretty easy.

Last edited by a moderator: 22nd May, 2017
    flyhere likes this.
  6. BMT Tax Depreciation

BMT Tax Depreciation Chris Business Member

That's all I need to know.

Is it an empty concrete shell? Is it a bark hut? If not, and you're paying taxes on an income above $37k, then it's extremely likely that your first full financial year's claim will leave you with more money than when you started. There'll be enough plant & equipment there that we can revalue in all but the rarest of cases.

Perthguy likes this.
  7. Depreciator

Getting emails with photos of properties is a nice distraction.

flyhere likes this.
  8. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member