Is it necessary to get contract reviewed before making an offer when buying a property?

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by JazzyW, 11th Oct, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JazzyW

JazzyW Active Member

Hi everyone,
    I am new to the buying process and I was wondering if its essential to get a contract reviewed before making an offer, or you can make a conditional offer, like subject to finance and inspections approval and upon acceptance of your offer you can get the contract reviewed. I would appreciate to know your thoughts on this question.
    Thanks

2. HenryC

HenryC Well-Known Member

Not necessary when you are making an offer as there are no legal documents to be signed, but 100% get your PROPERTY lawyer to review the contract before signing, make sure they are PROPERTY lawyer, not a random retail lawyer.
    In most cases, you can sign an HoA and subject to a certain due diligence period.
    Hope this helps!

JazzyW likes this.
  3. JazzyW

JazzyW Active Member

Thanks @HenryC for answering my question.

HenryC likes this.
  4. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

In Victoria, the "offer" is made on the legal document ("section 32") and so you will be agreeing to the conditions on it, as well as any special conditions.

If you are buying in Vic, I suggest you get your lawyer to look through it AND explain to you what to look for. The lawyer must be practicing or able to practice in Vic to give you advice (if you are buying from interstate).

The Y-man

craigc and JazzyW like this.
  5. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Unless you have a very high tolerance for risk or have previous experience in reviewing contract clauses for property contracts it is advisable to engage a lawyer to review before you commit $X00,000.

JazzyW likes this.
  6. JazzyW

JazzyW Active Member

Scott No Mates likes this.
  7. MyPropertyPro