Is it just not a good time to buy an IP

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Catherine IP, 28th Jun, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Catherine IP

Catherine IP Active Member

Australia’s Big Short

Sorry as indicated in my first post I am new to investment property, but the more I read into it, the more it does not look like a good time to buy. So say I can't afford to service at the 7.5% on both OO and IP, is it probably best I try to save more first?

Australia’s Big Short

Perthguy likes this.
  2. wombat777

wombat777 Well-Known Member

It depends on where you are intending to buy and with what budget. At what budget can't you afford a property? What is the yield of the properties you are interesting in buying? Depreciation also comes into it and can help with cashflow but not necessarily serviceability.

There are places other than Sydney and Melbourne to buy property.

If you have an OO property, is there equity you can access? ( although this is getting more difficult )

3. Corey Batt

Corey Batt Well-Known Member

It all comes down to individual properties and the value they present. For those who live and breath property it can seem concerning - but lets face the reality here - Australian property is not a financial product, it's an essential commodity that for the most part is used for owner occ purposes.

So whilst there are more strenuous rules being put on those who have significant investment portfolios - the smaller investors and owner occupiers of Australia have come off lightly and will continue to be able to afford to invest.

4. Lacrim

Lacrim Well-Known Member

I believe in hurdling the rate at 5-6% but per the article, 9%!!! Yes, s*** could happen but think of the missed opportunities.

And I think the real risk in question is what type of props/where this guy is buying in that gets close to a 9% gross yield.