Is finance possible for an Aussie living overseas without payslips?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Peter J, 30th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Peter J

Peter J Member

Hi.

Hoping someone has some ideas.

I saw in this thread that it is possible, but the problem I have is that I am a contractor (on a permanent long term overseas contract - 3 years so far and no end in sight), so pay slips are not possible from my employer. Also, being a digital nomad moving from country to country and not actually working in any country that I reside, I can not produce tax returns.

A couple of years ago it was no problem - just needed a letter from my employer stating how long I have worked for them and my salary, and bank statements showing the money coming in each month (AUD).

But now my broker has come back after trying a number of major banks saying with the tightening of the banks due to the dodgy Chinese laundered money coming in they have all said it is not possible without payslips or a tax return.

I have $400,000 in a combination of equity & cash, but it seems that is irrelevant without pay slips(?).

Hoping someone has some ideas here that might help.

2. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

I'm a bit perplexed by the lack of payslips.

It seems Iike an odd approach for a business to not give you some sort of electronic summary.

3. Peter J

Peter J Member

I don't live in the country that my company is in - I work online.
    So I am technically a contractor and not an employee and do not get payslips.
    Also since I do not reside in Australia or the country that my company is in, I don't have tax returns.

At this point I am thinking last resort is to go and live in Australia for 3 months just to pay tax there but that's an enormous inconvenience.

Any thoughts on a way around this for financing?

4. 158

158 Well-Known Member

Something doesn't add up.