Investor

Discussion in 'Development' started by Brian84, 25th Jun, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Brian84

Brian84 Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

I’m in the process of getting my builders licence (still about a year and a half away from getting it) and I was wondering how I would go about finding people to invest/partial fund some of my projects once I get the licence.

I have been a carpenter for 19 years and I have had my own framing business for 15 years. I have now started the 2 years experience as a construction supervisor that fair trading need me to do to be eligible for the licence.

I have successfully completed Cert i-iii in carpentry and Cert iv in building and construction.

Who would I be best off speaking to about writing up an agreement for a potential investor so it is fair for both myself and the investor.

Has anyone had experience with this before?
    How did it work out? Good or bad experiences are welcome.

Regards Brian

SmileSydney and Lindsay_W like this.
  2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Youd need successful projects to show investors. Maybe do a small reno, document everything so that investors can see it?

what do you expect the investor contribute? For how long? Penalties? What entity owns the property? Whats your stake in it? Etc.

3. Lindsay_W

Lindsay_W Well-Known Member

What type and on what scale are the projects you're going to be looking to do?

4. Brian84

I’m thinking house and land packages.

Lindsay_W likes this.
  5. Brian84

Thanks for your reply. That’s something I will have to think about more.

Lindsay_W likes this.
  6. Lindsay_W

Curious to know why would you need investors for that?
    Wouldn't you just be the builder for those house and land packages? and the 'investor' is just the client that's buying the property and funding the build? So technically you just need buyers.

7. Brian84