Investment strategy for a 23 year old starting out

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Major, 12th Aug, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Major

Major Active Member

Hi PropertyChat :)

I'm new to property investing and have been rapidly trying to learn before making my first move. I've read 'The Armchair Guide to Property Investing', have been working through heaps of podcasts and of course have been reading the posts on this forum for about a month or two.

Looking to get some advice and considerations on my current situation from the great knowledge base here before I dig into actually researching appropriate properties.

Current situation:
    • 23 years old
    • Located in VIC
    • Living with parents, comfortable staying here for the next few years to save on costs
    • Savings of 130k (Large portion inherited)
    • ETFs of 30k
    • Salary of 75k working in professional services, currently at the start of my career so am expecting this to increase this over the next few years but possibly less growth due to COVID
    Current thoughts + rough plan:
    • Looking to buy an investment property soon
    • Seeking high growth to take advantage of my long time horizon and compounding, comfortable being negatively geared
    • Current thinking is to take an IO loan with an offset account for this IP to maximise cash flow, so that in ~5 years I can purchase a PPR with my partner. When we purchase, I can take out the savings in the offset account and place it on the PPR loan to reduce the non-deductible debt