VIC Investment St Albans 2019 Thoughts

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by schmucky, 18th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. schmucky

schmucky Active Member

Hi all,

I have been reading up on a few of the threads in relation to zoning and developments and have seen Reservoir and Sunshine mentioned quite frequently. I am more interested in St Albans as I live there and more recently purchased a property to live in. The neighbour recently received approval to build a duplex on 540 sqm in GRZ. I'm a newbie and thought 540sqm in GRZ would be too small for any development but this piqued my interest as I could afford an investment property about that size.

In particular I have been looking around Perry, Foxton and Lyall St as they are relatively close to the town centre and cheaper than properties just on the other side of Main Road East.

I'm keen to hear about peoples thoughts on that area, and whether its feasible to put 2 to 3 townhouses on a 540 sqm block in that area.

I'm slightly biased myself as I live in the same suburb.
    - Pricing - I've been to a few auctions in St Albans and definitely feels like less bidders in the market.
    - Infrastructure - Train, Sunshine Hospital, Vic Uni, Western Ring Road
    - Development - ??? Will definitely need to employ an expert to run the numbers but just curious on potential. Is it possible to have 2-3 townhouses on 540 sqm in GRZ?
    - Zoning Changes around St Albans Station - Most likely none. Is this correct? Side point, I noticed while reading the planning documents that they are proposing to rezone some areas around Sunshine Hospital.

2. jazzsidana

jazzsidana Well-Known Member

How soon do you plan to subdivide?

Melbourne market doesn't offer the best yields right now and prices are still on decline at this point. Probably better off looking interstate. And also comes down to overall strategy/goal

PurpleTurtle likes this.
  3. schmucky