Investment Property - Nrth Brisbane

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Kim, 28th Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Kim

Kim Member

Hey everyone,

You have been an amazing source of info and advice which is greatly appreciated. :)

I'm very new to this and have been looking into some options to purchase a place in Brisbane. At first I thought I would buy owner occupied but I've now decided to buy an investment property.

I'm just wondering if someone could please explain which I should choose - Interest Only or Principle and Interest. I always thought I'd pay both but I just read somewhere it's more beneficial to pay IO on the Investment Property.

Thanks guys
    Kim

2. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hey Kim

Welcome aboard :) I've copied/pasted an entry from our blog below regarding IO or P&I - hopefully it helps.

A question we’re always asked is “should I be paying interest only or principle and interest on my loans?”

When it comes to claiming an investment loan as a deduction – only the interest portion of the loan is tax deductible. The principle portion is not. Therefore, if you have an investment loan, and you decide to pay off some of the principle each repayment, you’re effectively reducing this tax deductible debt – meaning there is less tax you can claim back.

This can be a costly mistake for those who also have non-deductible debt (which most of us do). This includes a home loan on your Principle Place of Residency (PPOR), car loans, personal loans, credit cards, etc.

If you want to pay down any debt – it is this non-deductible debt that you should try and knock on the head first. It simply doesn’t make financial sense to pay down your deductible investment debt when you also have non-deductible debt.

So what’s the ideal structure?

Generally speaking, it’s ideal to have all of your investment loans set up as interest only.