Investment property in Western Sydney (<$700k)

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Kevbo, 13th Feb, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Kevbo

Kevbo Well-Known Member

Hi All

By way of background, I am looking to buy an investment property with a budget of up to $700k max. While I can afford up to $700k ideally I would want to buy something around the $450-550k mark.

I have been doing inspections in a few suburbs for about five months now - Padstow, Greenacres, Bankstown, Auburn, focusing on apartments or townhouses that are built 20+ years ago (because of concerns regarding poor workmanship in some of the newly built).

What I am hoping to get a second opinion is whether apartments in these suburbs are worth investing (or should I look elsewhere?) and if you have any views on these suburbs? I am a bit lost now and any guidance would be much appreciated!

2. Kevbo

Kevbo Well-Known Member

In addition to the above, I am also hoping to understand whether, if given the choice, whether it is better to buy a two bedder or a three bedder? I feel that two bedder may be easier to lease out; but three bedder may enjoy better capital growth (though I might be completely wrong!)

3. skater

skater Well-Known Member

Why are you looking for units, when you can get a house for that budget, a little further out?

4. Kevbo

Kevbo Well-Known Member

I am hoping to get some rental income out of this investment property and I feel that if I buy somewhere far I might find it difficult to rent it out. Further, to get a house at my limited budget would mean that I need to look into areas that are far from train stations/inconvenient to people who wish to travel by public transport - and therefore hard to rent out.