VIC Investment property in eastern

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by kaacu, 27th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. kaacu

kaacu Member

Hi all, I'm new to the market. Looking for investment property in Melbourne, and now researching possible location. I don't know much about the process so please correct me if I'm wrong.

Currently my capital is around 140k to 170k, if it's 20% deposit I'm paying the target property price range would be 650k ~ 800k? In short term I hope it may help tax deduction, and later in 3+ years I'll see if it can generate rental income. In long term, redevelopment / subdivision for sale or my own stay would likely be the plan.

So I'm looking at 3br house with 600m2+ size. I'm staying in Ringwood, VIC. This suburb is kinda overpricing I would probably look at Bayswater, Ferntree Gully, Noble Park...

I just start planning on it, open to any opportunity. So any opinion would be very appreciated.

2. kaibo

kaibo Well-Known Member

5 Peck Street, Bayswater, Vic 3153 - Property Details
    705K seems a good price for land only, Depends how "Dilapidated with little hope of repair", probably need at least 80-100K to make rentable for low 300's per week. I would say your budget can not buy Ringwood proper for the specs you are looking for. Perhaps Bayswater, Croydon, Heathmont, Ringwood East more realistic target

3. Anthony Brew

Anthony Brew Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum.

A lot of things that are worth looking further into before looking for a property.

1. Add 5% to purchasing costs (stamp duty), so 20% + 5% = requiring 25/105 (=23.8%) if you actually will be using 20% deposit, although you might be able to pay under 20% deposit if you use LMI, so talk to a broker to find out how much you can actually borrow. It costs nothing to talk to a broker - they get their commission from the bank as a way for the bank to say thanks for bringing us a customer.