Investment plan to pay off PPOR. Feedback please!

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Btaylor, 28th Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Btaylor

Btaylor Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I am new to the property investment game and am hoping for some feedback from more experienced investors.

I have a plan to pay off my PPOR sooner as follows:

- My PPOR's value is $545k and has mortgage of $335k
    - I have placed a deposit on a block of land and plan to build an investment property on it. Total cost: $635k. I am refinancing PPOR to access equity for deposit.
    - I plan to rent the investment out for a while (4-6 years) and then sell my current PPOR and move into the investment property.
    - Hopefully, the PPOR will have had some more growth and selling would allow me to use the capital gain to assist with paying down the PPOR debt. This would mean I avoid CGT.

Is this a good plan? Or should I just build the investment property and keep it as an investment for the long term and pay down my loan the old fashioned way?

I plan to build a property portfolio eventually but would really like to smash down my non-deductible debt. Having no PPOR debt would be a big part of financial freedom in my book.

I have a very stable job and income of $105k pa.

Thoughts?

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Potentially a good plan.

The new house would be subject to CGT when sold, but this will decrease the longer you hold it.

Gypsyblood likes this.
  3. Anthony Brew

Anthony Brew Well-Known Member

Any reason why you need to sell the current one and reach financial freedom so soon? are you nearing retirement? if not, is there any reason to not just let renters pay it off while you start paying off the new place?
    This is not advice by the way - I am just wondering.

Perthguy likes this.
  4. Btaylor