ETF Investment Allocation ETF or Individual Stocks?

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Chris1992, 17th Feb, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Chris1992

Chris1992 Active Member

Hi,

I am new to the stock market although I have a great deal of experience with technical and fundamental analysis in regards to financial markets such as foreign exchange as I have active trading accounts. I am considering investing $30,000 into the stock market into blue chip stocks but my question is am I better off buying an ETF such as VAS for the top Aussie stocks or will buying the individual stocks provide a greater return? I also want international exposure so I know I am intending to buy an ETF owned in Australia for that as I do not want to deal with the foreign tax implications. Therefore my options are

1. Buy individual aussie stocks but international ETFS for foreign market exposure.
    2. Buy aussie ETFS for aussie stocks and aussie ETFS for international stocks.
    3. Buy individual aussie stocks, but buy aussie bond, property ETFS. Also buy international ETFS for both blue chips and emerging markets.

I am leaning more towards buying individual stocks since I do have the technical and fundamental analysis skills to analyse stocks at optimal buying times although I am wondering if just buying ETFS would provide greater yield per say?

Would anyone suggest which would give me the greatest return over a long term period of 30+ years considering I am going to keep reinvesting the dividends for compound growth no withdrawals, as well as regular lump sum deposits into either of the 3 options of whichever I choose unless someone can suggest a totally different path?

Thank you for your time and suggestions :)

2. Snowball

Snowball Well-Known Member

The easiest and surest option will be investing via ETFs for both Aussie and International shares.