QLD Investing in Branyan Bundaberg?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Lisa120, 7th Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Lisa120

Lisa120 New Member

Hi guys,

I am quite new to the property investment world and I am looking at potentially buying a Dual Income Homes in Branyan in Bundaberg.

The property is near where apparently a proposed site for a new $1 billion hospital will be build as well as the airport and university and is positively geared.

What are your thoughts? It's the first investment property I'd be purchasing so I'm pretty nervous about the process. Any idea/help is welcomed :)

Thanks!

2. willair

willair Well-Known Member Premium Member

When you look at the entry costs,plus the numbers of rentals on the market why Branyan?.
    Have a look at this postcode 4650 ,one of our daughters put a offer on a house walking distance to the towns CBD a few days ago,only my opinion but you may well get more bang for the bucks in Maryborough ..imho..

3. robboat

robboat Well-Known Member

Hi Lisa,
    Depends what your chasing most - capital gains or cashflow.....
    Bundaberg has some great potential but a lot of growth is already priced into the market there.....add that to the flood risk insurance cost and it becomes a little tricky to get positive gearing. Rental vacancies are another factor.
    Branyan is nice but exposed to Burnett River.

We check out Bundaberg but brought in Maryborough two years ago as it was in a slump - now prices have increased up to 30 - 40% - still a few opportunities for cashflow but rapidly shrinking stocks.....
    Easy renting, cashflow positive, all upside if the military vehicle contract come to town....;)
    And it is a very pleasant place to live.

4. Lisa120

Lisa120 New Member

Hi guys,