Introduction from a dividend investor

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Mike Roberts, 13th Jun, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Mike Roberts

Mike Roberts Member

Hello all,

I found this site after someone had posted a link to an interview we had done with Peter Thornhill on our site (you can find the interview here). I have made a few comments in the Peter Thornhill thread but thought I should properly introduce myself as I've enjoyed surfing around the site a bit and reading thoughts from other contributors on property, shares and other asset classes.

I've been obsessed by investing since I was a student and became financially independent in my early 30s despite no inheritance. This has been done by compulsive saving and investing. I feel there is so much to learn out there and I love the investing "game." In a similar way to Peter Thornhill, I have a huge focus on cashflow - I don't worry about market movements but I do think heavily about the underlying business' or securities I'm investing in. Whether the market is going up or down there are always opportunities if you look hard enough. The key to me is patience and temperament as well as some understanding of accounting.

My friend Will set up the website www.retireondividends.com and I contribute to that site where I put down some of my thoughts - mainly on dividend investing. I follow the Australian market very closely as my fiancee is Australian and we spend a good amount of time there. I also spend time in the USA and the UK. I look forward to following more threads on here and hopefully making the odd contribution.

Mike Roberts

KayTea, Gockie, trinity168 and 5 others like this.
  2. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

Hello Mike

Welcome.

I am a boglehead but I do acknowledge Thornhill's position and I enjoyed his book.