International Student (Debt Collector)

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by KiruHuru, 5th Apr, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. KiruHuru

KiruHuru New Member

Hi Everyone

i was wondering if you can help me. The debt collectors are threatening to sue me for $275 for an unpaid electricity bill. However the bill was for my stay in a flat where there was no formal tenancy agreement and all money was paid in cash further the bond was also not registered with the NSW fair trading.
    http://www.fairtrading.nsw.gov.au/m...rting_a_tenancy_information_for_landlords.pdf

I was an international student in Australia from 2010 to 2015. I was a resident in Australia for the duration of my 5 years. I completed my studies and left the country in 2015.

In 2012 I was sharing a house (with two friends) from July until November (5 months) in Sydney city near oxford street. There was no rental agreement of contract however it was implied that the rent covered all utilities and bills. however a couple of weeks after we moved in someone from the energy company came to the home and asked to register for the electricity. I was pretty stupid and give them my name, email, phone number and signature.

In 2014 I got a call from AGL that the electricity bill was unpaid and needs to be paid. I told them that the home owner was responsible for paying the bills as we paid a portion of the bills through our rent.

after a few more calls from 2014 to 2015 i got an email from them a few weeks ago from the debt collectors that if we do not pay the $275 the matter will be taken to court and will affect my credit file.

I am currently not in Australia, but i do plan on returning once I am married with my Australian partner.

My question is:
    1. Can AGL and the debt collector legally hold me liable for a property i didn't own or that I didn't have a tenancy agreement for? The tenancy agreement was verbal and noting was written.