Interest Rate Prediction

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by MJS1034, 8th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. MJS1034

MJS1034 Well-Known Member

After reading the RBA’s announcement from their Tuesday meeting there seems to Be a high chance of a rate cut coming up this year - have seen this mentioned on here too!

As a Broker I know how tight lending is with assessments rates sitting at 7.25%+. If there is a rate cut (passed on) it would seem logical to also cut assessment rates. Thoughts?

Longer term, there is a lot of talk that interest rates will remain quite low for the next 10-20 years. Obviously it’s hard to predict that far into the future but do you think APRA will loosen their view of assesment rates to allow them to be droppen to say 6%?

I’ve seen first hand how the 7.25% assessment rates are affecting first home buyers. Especially when those first home buyers may not ever see rates of 7.25% for their initial loan term. These assessment rates are certainly needed without a doubt but I believe 7.25% is just way too high.

Would love everyone’s thoughts on it?

2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Snowballs chance on a Mt isa summers day

we may see some playing at the edges ..... but that would be back to "irresponsible" lending days, to increase borrow cap by that level

remember that most peops are supposedly already beyond comfort now.

ta
    rolf

Dean Collins likes this.
  3. euro73

euro73 Well-Known Member Business Member

The beautiful Hills District, Sydney Australia