Insert sister...

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by JKWS, 22nd Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JKWS

JKWS Well-Known Member

Time again for me to pick the brains of all the uber intelligent property peeps on PC!

I'm a builder and my income is good, patchy but good. I've got equity and a few small unit developments under my belt. My borrowing is not bad, however still very restricted and I belive is going to be my next hurdle.

My sister is, and has been on wages for the government in HR for years! She makes big money and pays big taxes. She however loves to spend and as a result of some bad credit card purchases has a terrible credit rating/ zero equity. She went to the banks 2 years ago and they wouldn't even lend her 25k..

In order to help me and help her, I'd like to pair up on the next development. I'd be able to cover repayments and my sister would just come in on the title and mortgages to beef up the borrowing amount/ get her credit rating back on track from the younger years reckless spending.

Is this theory logical? Or am I wishfully dreaming this up?

We've downloaded her credit rating and I'm heading to the banks next week to suss out the theory. Though, it would be nice to have some PC input so I have some prior understanding of the situation.

Any advice or obvious points, please feel free to share :)

2. Xenia

Xenia Well-Known Member

Would she be able to increase the lending capacity?
    I would only do it if she can genuinely make a difference rather than a handout.

Also ensure that she is not able to take off and sell property in future as an owner - or move in and decrease the rental income.

I know we all trust our siblings, including me - but I have seen this happen before, hence the caution.

Sackie, BigKahuna, ellejay and 3 others like this.
  3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member