Inner city Melbourne - apartment or house?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by jinx77, 8th May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jinx77

jinx77 Well-Known Member

I’m a professional who is looking to buy my first home to live in. I want to buy an apartment or small unit in Melbourne’s northern suburbs (Essendon/Moonee Ponds/Ascot Vale/Thornbury/Preston/Brunswick). But I’ve heard people caution against apartments as there’s negative market growth compared to houses or units further out (ie: Reservoir, Epping) for the same price.

My main aim in buying is for residential rather than investment purposes but I do want to buy a property that will provide financial security in the future.

Is it really a financial “no no” to buy an inner city apartment? Is this only due to oversupply or are there other reasons why buyers avoid apartments? What are the financial benefits of buying a property far from the CBD if I don’t plan to raise a family?

2. Brady

Brady Well-Known Member

Have you considered renting where you want to live and buying where you think will be a good investment?

3. jinx77

jinx77 Well-Known Member

If my end goal is to own a property that I can live in, what would be the benefit of buying a property in an area I'd never want to live? Obviously I wouldn't want to jeapordise my future by making a bad investment but my priority is to own a modest 1-2 bedroom property that I can reside in and fall back on, rather than to make a big profit in the future by selling an outer city house for the big bucks.

4. Traveller99

Traveller99 Well-Known Member

What's your budget? Would you consider older apartments?

5. Brady

Brady Well-Known Member

Doesn't that answer your own question.

6. Shogun

Shogun Well-Known Member

Older apartment in a small complex with low strata fees, money in a sinking fund, seems to be popular advice on here if you go that route.