If bank goes bankrupt, will the savings in offset account disappear?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Kangaroo, 17th Oct, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Kangaroo

Kangaroo Well-Known Member

I am a layman in finance. I have query which has not got answered for a long time.

Lots of people use offset accounts to reduce their borrowing to maintain the flexibility. I assume the offset account is the same as Save/Deposit account. When a bank defaults( it happened before), the cash in offsetting account simply goes with it and the loan book will remain. So the property purchaser has to repay the debt from scratch again ? Is it right ? In this aspect, loan account with redrawing ability is better than offsetting account ?

Perthguy likes this.
  2. JohnPropChat

JohnPropChat Well-Known Member

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

an offset account is a debt - the bank owes you money. If the bank becomes insolvent then into liquidation there may be not enough funds to pay its creditors so those with offset accounts will become unsecured creditors. Your only hope is the government guarantee.

Those with loans owe the money to the bank, so it is different and they liquidators could only chase you for what you owe. This debt would also be sold to another entity and you would have to then repay them instead of the bankk

Soul, Kangaroo and Perthguy like this.
  4. C-mac

C-mac Well-Known Member

Does that mean that (for example), if a particular bank was constantly in the news as 'about to go under' and you have a mortgage debt with them, plus an offset account with say $300k parked in it; you could just move the $300K to your 'savings' account and it would be safe? (I.e. if the bank then folded, they would have to pay out all savings accounts to their creditors).

5. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member