I have 100K in savings - how should I play this?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by tralexandria, 6th Aug, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. tralexandria

tralexandria Member

Hey - newbie here. Have been lurking around a few posts and thought I'd ask for some advice.

I don't own any assets and I am currently renting in Melbourne.
    I have 100K in my savings account (genuine savings plus some help from inheritance), and 600K borrowing power. I want to get my first foot in property investment, with the aim to build a small portfolio in the next 8-10 years.

Currently thinking my options to start off are:
    a) Buy one IP ~$500K. Where would be the best city to look at that will have good potential for short term growth so I can use the equity in the next 2-3 years? Brisbane? Hobart?

b) Buy two IPs ~$250-300K. Where? Regional areas? Or suburbs outside of Brisbane and Hobart perhaps?

c) Buy a PPOR in Melbourne then use the equity in a couple of years to get an IP. Would Melbourne have good potential for growth in the next 2-3 years?

What would you do? Any other options you'd recommend?
    Any advice is much appreciated!!

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

If you're happy renting I'd look to invest first as Melbourne is fairly unlikely to continue to grow the way it has been.

That said, if a PPOR is a priority in the next couple of years, I'd maybe buy the IP as high LVR as possible to make sure you have enough deposit for your home when the time comes, nad get your broker to plan ahead for you so you can be sure you can still borrow for it with an IP or two in place. Borrowing against an IP for the deposit on a home can be done, but it's not the best outcome from a tax perspective.

3. John_BridgeToBricks

John_BridgeToBricks Buyer's Agent Business Member

Tralexandria,

Thanks for reaching out to the forum.