I am upgrading and buying a place to live in - Free standing townhouse or wait for a house?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Daniel999, 13th Oct, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Daniel999

Daniel999 Member

Hello I am new to PropertyChat and I have looked at a few old threads on Townhouse vs house. However I am not investing, I am buying a place to live in. I have some questions and I would appreciate some advice.

Background:

Currently I own and live in a 2 bedroom unit in Sydney's upper North Shore, it is a 40+ year old block. The market has come down in the last 18 months and now it is going back up so I am using this opportunity to upgrade.

Initially I wanted to buy a freestanding house but after 10 months search I haven't found a suitable home. Now the price is rebounding quickly and I am getting priced out again, because even though I am upgrading but the prices of houses are gaining more than my unit. This is why I began to consider townhouses, in the same suburb to where I am living.

Where I am at:

This week I put in an offer for a townhouse and it was accepted. I haven't signed the contract yet.

The townhouse is freestanding, 3 bedrooms, full brick, 25 years old. It has 140sqm building area allocated with 320sqm land. 1.5k from the shopping centre and 2k from train station. It is not easy to find a freestanding townhouse on 300+sqm land. It is almost like a house anyway. The location is also good. There are about 30 townhouses in the complex. It is in the same suburb to where I am currently living and the price is about 80k lower than a 3 bedroom fibro/timber/500sqm house in the same area.