How to subdivide a 900m2 residential block? Question by a newbie.

Discussion in 'Development' started by Abhi, 6th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Abhi

Abhi Member

Hello Everyone,

I am new to actively working with real estate so kindly pardon if I come out too ignorant. I am a total newbie here.

I own a 4 br 2 bath house on a full block of land (900m2 ) in Lilydale. It is a well sought after suburb.

I want to subdivide my land and sell it, put the current house on rent and use the money from the sale to fund a purchase of a horse property where I want to establish an agistment.

In terms of loan, I owe the bank about 75-80% of the current market price of the house, so I think bank should be okay to let me subdivide it. The house is built exactly in the center on the block, so if I subdivide the block I'll probably get around 300m2 of sub-block which I should be able to sell.

My questions about this are -
    1. How long does this whole process of subdivision take before I can sell it?
    2. How much does it cost?
    3. Will the council approve a permit for a 300m2 block? I had checked with them earlier, they said that currently they are allowing maximum 2 subdivisions on the block this size in my suburb.
    4. Roughly how much do I need to spend before I know for sure that the council will say yes or no for the subdivision?
    5. What is the right process to go about sub dividing your land? Are there any step by step guidelines available somewhere?

I'd really appreciate all the help and info.

Cheers!
    Abhi

2. Matt Ad

Matt Ad Well-Known Member

Hi @Abhi