How to start out (using mates rates)

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by fernergan, 30th Jul, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. fernergan

fernergan Member

Hi there

I am a young 20yo Electrician on $40k annual wage w/ $90k savings living at home rent free and would love to hear your input on an investment property strategy. My current borrowing power is $240k for a PPOR & $330k for an IP + my deposit. Let me know if you would like me to provide any further details.
    My longterm goal is to become financially free, enabling me options to choose whatever occupation I like (without money as a concern), travel, have time for friends and family and be able to volunteer my time & money to hunger/poverty & environmental organisations that I am passionate about.

Two scenarios I am currently considering:

1. Buy an investment-grade property looking interstate (borderless investor), targeting capital growth on a 500m2 + block with side access to build a granny flat - therefore increasing yield (at the possible expense of some CG) and with the intention of holding for 20years + . My max purchase price would be approx $400k and was looking at the Redcliffe peninsula in Brisbane (I am from Sydney)