How to reduce tax bill?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Cmelderis, 14th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Cmelderis

Cmelderis Well-Known Member

Taxation noob here. What are some strategies to your reducing tax bill?
    We have no debt, no mortgage ( we rent ) and no assets as such apart from 2 cars and a small amount of shares ( 3k worth )
    Our savings are in our bank accounts ( approx 100k ) not sure if that is relevant but just wanted to give the whole picture.
    I know of super contributions but looking at what else could be an option for us.
    Would like to buy a new ( second hand ) vehicle next year I believe there may be a way of repayments being pre taxable income....? But generally looking to find out any/all ways we could minimise how much tax we pay.
    Thank you all

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

Are you planning on buying a house to live in or as a rental?

If so, I'd hold off on changing cars as that could limit what you can borrow.

The how to save tax question I'll leave for someone else. But if you are going to borrow for a car, I would talk to a broker before doing anything.

Cmelderis likes this.
  3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Shouldnt you be focusing on increasing assets? You have about 100k cash and nothing else.

4. Cmelderis

Agreed and we are but still figuring out best strategy for that one especially considering where the property market is currently at nationally
    Also, I don't feel our position is really that bad....having assets isn't the be all and end all. Have friends with properties hence mortgages living week to week with no savings and an "asset" that is worth less than what they paid for it 5 years ago....

5. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

For tax advice a tax agent may assist