Education & Work How to impress in an interview?

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by Tim86, 7th Sep, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Tim86

Tim86 Well-Known Member

I've just applied for a relief supervisor position at my work. I've been working at this place for 4 years now.

It's a not for profit organisation that does telephone counselling. The supervisor position involves supporting counsellors through calls which involve duty of care, and then making appropriate notifications such as ringing police communications, etc...

The position also involves giving feedback around counsellors work (pulling them into line where needed) and ongoing case management duties and other paperwork "stuff".

I've heard that previous interview questions were things such as:

"what are some of your ideas for our organisation"

And doing a presentation on why you would be right for the job.

The centre manager who pretty much has the final decision on who gets the job has a law background. So is very business management minded rather than a more laid back understanding empathic counsellor sort of vibe that you might expect from a counselling centre manager.

The last person that got a supervisor promotion said that the centre manager responded really well to her business focussed ideas.

I'm wondering, with all of this in mind, how would you tackle the interview.

With my application I presented myself as very pragmatic and answered questions around leadership style as being approachable however not wavering from the core principals of management, to provide feedback and accountability.

In terms of demonstrating experience with management qualities I gave examples of managing tenants as I self manage my rental properties.

Is there anything I should be keeping in mind?

Is there anything you would like to see from a potential candidate for a supervisory position such as this?