How to have investor funds available

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by goodtimes, 11th Jun, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. goodtimes

goodtimes Well-Known Member

Hi

Of course I will seek my own professional advice but I'm hoping to gain some insight from other's experiences and ideas here please.

The situation is:
    I have a property with DA approved subdivision. I'm in talks with an investor about them funding the subdivision works and contributions in exchange for a discounted block.
    I have a home loan with a big 4 on the property. The investor is using cash funds.
    Hoping for input about how this can be structured.
    I have zero experience in JV's. I'm thinking there are different ways to structure this that have +s and -s.

1) can they contribute the funds to have a share of the title? Is it easy to allocate exactly what they get? I.e. Not just a % of the total title, or a sqm area, but the block they get? Do they pay stamp duty to buy in? Do I pay gst on the sale of the portion?

2) can they make an off the plan purchase from me for a proposed lot and exchange with a huge deposit that is releasable? Stamp duty and gst obviously apply here.

Will either of these ideas work? What drawbacks do they have?

Is anything like this possible while I have mortgage on it?

What other options are there?

Thanks for any input.

2. hobartchic

hobartchic Well-Known Member

Why not just sell the block to the developer?

Beano likes this.
  3. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

the best option is legal and tax advice perhaps ?

ta
    rolf

4. goodtimes

goodtimes Well-Known Member

Thanks for the replies.