How should loan(s) be structured

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by P.M.G., 2nd Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. P.M.G.

P.M.G. Member

Hi everyone

This is my first post but I have read many posts on both this site and somersoft but I am still learning. There is a wealth of information here.

We got married in 2015, second time for both of us and we each bring a property into the marriage.

PPOR: solely in my name, valued at $750k which will be paid off fully within the next few months after receipt of an inheritance of approx. $105k.
    IP1: solely in husband's name, valued at $1.25 mil and currently rented out, nearly cash positive on a P/I loan.
    LOC: solely in husband's name secured by IP1 with $50k limit which has $45k used presently to buy shares. Expected to be paid off in full at the end of Feb 2016.
    Salaries are relatively the same totaling approx. $225k p.a.
    Current LVR about 22%

We realise we are in a very good position financially and are looking at buying our first IP together in joint names, let's call it IP2. I understand we shouldn't use redraw on either the PPOR or IP1 to pay the deposit on IP2 as that would result in a mixed purpose loan.

I've read Terryw's Ideal Loan Structure but because we won't have any debt on the PPOR it's left me a little confused as to how to structure our loan(s), particularly in regard to obtaining the deposit for IP2. Also, unsure whether the PPOR and IP1 being in different names to IP2 has any impact?

Would appreciate advice on best way to structure loan(s) and obtain deposit for IP2. Taking into consideration we will be looking at buying IP3 probably within the next 6 to 12 months and continuing on to buy more IP's in the future.

2. kierank

kierank Well-Known Member