How many loans?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by 13161, 11th Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. 13161

13161 Active Member

How long is a piece of string?

So, I know it's a bit of a silly question but I wanted to ask if there was any merit to it. I heard recently that it's particularly hard to get more than three loans for investment purposes. To me, this sounds a little bit wrong, surely if you've got 50% LVR and a $150,000 pa income and everything is positively geared you can get a fourth?

Not being a mortgage expert I thought I'd ask the question. It just seems a bit silly to me, but that said there seems to be some quite significant restrictions on our lending at the moment.

Thanks in advance.

Perthguy likes this.
  2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Subject to servicing and equity

loans are "limitless"

ta

rolf

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Depending on the situations my clients seem to be tapping out at around the $2mil mark for a couple.

Very generally

13161 likes this.
  4. 13161

13161 Active Member

Thanks so much everyone, can't believe I let a little comment instill so much fear.

5. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

There's been massive changes to the methods banks use to calculate max borrowing.

The vast majority of lenders have adopted a similar approach whereby they calculate new and existing debt the borrower holds at a rate of 7%+ and P&I repayments. This almost doubles the actual repayments if the client is on a sub 5% rate with IO repayments.

There are some small differences between lenders - and there's still a couple of "generous" lenders when it comes to calculating max borrowing for investor clients.