How long until / or will the major institutions are in trouble?

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by K974, 31st Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. K974

K974 Well-Known Member

(can someone edit the thread title)

I said it on here weeks ago I am no expert , plenty brighter Minds that me here, but I drew a parallel with my expierence of the GFC outside of australia , only this time it’s the GFC with steroids

But it’s surprised even me in the last week or so the scale of the issue , as I said a few weeks ago I predicted some major institutions will go under / need to be bailed out

I’d be looking at the listed developers and likes of Westpac , anyone else of same opinion, any candidates ?

currently it’s following the GFC (again outside of australia identically) a mantra of “solid fundamentals”, “soften the landing “ “we’ll get through this “

maybe you think I am completely off the mark, maybe I am , and I’m scarred from banks going under and burnt by 100yr old developers that were back then too big to fail

Last edited: 31st Mar, 2020
    Melbourne_guy likes this.
  2. Morgs

Morgs Well-Known Member Business Member

Not sure, it is your story so maybe you can tell us?

Lindsay_W likes this.
  3. See Change

See Change Well-Known Member

Can't see the big four having an issue . The Government won't let it happen and with all the tightening up of the banking sector in the last years , they're a lot more robust . I know one small banker just did a capital raising and they had no problems getting the funds they wanted without having to pay a premium .

Developers , I'm sure some will go under , but that happens with any recession .

Cliff

Mr Burns likes this.
  4. K974

K974 Well-Known Member

I said weeks ago that a disaster was brewing , I said the 7% unemployment forecast was a joke , a few skeptics to my comments but more and more sentiment has changed