How long does it take to lease a property?

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by thegoat, 1st Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. thegoat

thegoat Member

Hi,

This is my first time being a landlord and I’m wondering how long it generally takes to rent out a property. I know this is sort of like a ‘how long is a piece of string’ question, but wanted to get some feedback.

So we’ve moved out of the townhouse we were living in and it has now become a rental property. The property went up on realestate.com.au (1E Harold Road Springvale South Vic 3172 - House for Rent #417480994 - realestate.com.au) on the 8th January. There was the first open for inspection on the 14th January when we still had all our furniture in there as we didn’t start moving out until the 15th January. The agency said there were around 20 people that came through who in her words said it was really nice and all took application forms. Result was that they received only 1 application and that was from a group of 3 adults who had never rented before (a couple and one other adult). Advice from agency was that they should hold another couple of opens.

Due to us moving out and basically getting the house ready for viewing again, another open was held last Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. Around 6 people came through on Wednesday and also on Friday and one family on Saturday. Again she said they all commented how nice it was and they all took application forms. One application came through on Thursday but references came through and weren’t very good. I haven’t touched base with her today to find out if there were any other applications that have come in.

Having never leased a property before, I’m getting a bit stressed that it’s taking too long and the amount of applications we’ve received (only 2) is very low.