How I invested in US property using my Super

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by mistrys, 31st May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. mistrys

mistrys Member

Hi Everyone!

I’m a newbie to the forum and wanted to share my story for others to be inspired. My wife and I are originally from the UK and migrated over to Australia about 5 years ago and something tells me I won’t be going back to the cold anytime soon lol. We both work in the IT sector and fortunately got jobs fairly quickly which was a relief and wanted to explore Australia and all it has to offer. Anyways, property caught my attention here as so many people spoke about it and the fact that it's plastered across the news, so It’s difficult not to miss; which kicked started my interest into real estate investing.

One day it occurred to me that I have funds sitting in my Super that are currently invested into a Super Fund, achieving around 8% return. After some research, I came to realise that I had the option of investing it into other types of Super funds such as Industry, Retail, Corporate, Public etc but the returns were hovering around the 10% mark, which although sounds good, I thought to myself that there must be a way to generate better returns. I even considered Shares but it felt much risker to me as it can be quite volatile unless you know what you’re doing.