How do you service multiple loans on the same income?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by sharkling, 6th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sharkling

sharkling Member

Hi everyone

Newbie here so please be patient while I try to understand the concepts of property investing. I have a question to ask regarding how the servicing of multiple loans work when one is on a limited income, i.e. how do property investors buy multiple properties over time and accumulate a large total mortgage while being on the same income through their working life?

For example, I was informed by the mortgage broker that my servicing ability would be limited, as the monthly mortgage repayments on the one investment property that I own is taken into account as an expense (amongst other living expenses). While I understand this is necessary in case of vacancy, the repayments are actually covered by the rent. And if one were to do that for multiple properties, then surely ones expenses would be exorbitant and thus have no servicing ability whatsoever? What other factors allow property investors to buy multiple properties despite being on the same income?

If anyone can explain how this works it would be really appreciated.

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Your current expenses DO get taken into consideration - but so does the rent - did your current broker factor them in?

The fact is that many - if not all - of the investors boasting large portfolios did their buying in a different credit environment.

Investors coming into the market today have to do things differently - the good news is that there are options to extend borrowing capacity but it does mean being very strategic with your lending and how you manage your cashflow and risk.