How do I buy another IP?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by dmb1978, 7th Nov, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. dmb1978

dmb1978 Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I am pretty new at this and although I know I will need to seek some financial advice soon, I just want to know how I keep moving forward.

I understand the basics of using equity etc to borrow but how do you keep buying when you are at capacity. Is it as simple as waiting and hoping for more capital growth or saving more cash or is there a secret I am not getting that allows people to keep buying properties so frequently.

I have a PPOR which we have used to buy two IP's over the last 4 years. All the equity is spent now as we are at 84% LVR. We borrowed everything including stamp duty to buy these properties. The house IP is doing well, the unit has stayed neutral and the PPOR although our loved home is a money pit in all honesty.

So where do i go from here? I could be waiting forever for growth to have enough equity and I don't have enough cash pay down the PPOR and release more that way.

Is there a strategy to speed this process up or is there something I need to change to help my situation other than finding more money?

2. Gockie

Gockie Life is good ☺️ Premium Member

Is there any add value opportunity on any of your properties to manufacture growth?

3. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Try a couple of diff valuations for the ppor and see if there is a bit of fuel there

The ips sound like they lmi on them so u can really only ideally revalue with the existing lender

Ta

Rolf

4. dmb1978