How best to use $350k cash

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by umbro2, 14th May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. umbro2

umbro2 Member

I am an amateur property investor and recently cashed in $350k cash. Any advice on how best to use it to achieve financial freedom?

Im currently 38yrs old and am in a full time role earning average salary. I have just gone back into the work force from being full time stay at home mum but am interested in having freedom and flexibility of potentially being my own boss again and grow a portfolio to leave for my children.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

2. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Impossible to answer as its financial advice and also nobody knows a single thing about you etc $350K is unlikely to achieve financial freedom. Your risk profile may mean you want to go red/black or may like absolute security.

3. datto

datto Well-Known Member

350K cash. That's a bit of coin.

Gladys and Gestalt like this.
  4. Shady

Shady Well-Known Member

Cant advise how best to use it but two things I wouldn't do is 1) waste it on shiny things and 2) leave it in the bank. Doing nothing is not far off wasting it on shiny things ;)

5. euro73

euro73 Well-Known Member Business Member

The beautiful Hills District, Sydney Australia

Do you have a PPOR? spouse? Kids? Other properties ? Other debts?

6. umbro2

umbro2 Member

No PPOR, was hoping to use bit of that as deposit for PPOR. Am married with two primary aged school children. Have one other investment property shared with siblings, have agreed to sell it towards end of this yr as it's too difficult to manage overseas investment property and no debt.

I suppose what my question really is, what would you do in my circumstance? For many average people I'm considered to have a slight advantage already. It may not be a huge amount but at least it's something.